My New Guinea Experience – Lakotoromola

18 Mar

As soon as I hopped out of the car I was greeted with the stench of burning pig hair, a smell I m very much accustomed to and it was all the evidence I needed to know that this was a big Custom Wok (traditional ceremony) I was about to witness. This was my first Lakotoromola.

As I followed the crowd I noticed a huge long table which was built about 2-3 meters above the ground, puzzled I looked thru the eye piece of my camera and zoomed in on the table, there neatly scattered on top were many pieces of pork, I lost count after 50, there was a lot of pork up there!

I gently pushed pass the crowd of people protecting my camera as I passed, I walked over to where a group of children gathered playfully shoving each other and squealing “wee la bolo” I recognised the word bolo meaning pig in the Nakanai language and I too became curious to their excitement and quietly approached them, trying to get a glimpse of what was going on. There I discovered the young men and women kneeling down cutting up the pigs. Every now and then the butchers would scold at the young children as one or two of them would try and pinch small pieces of pork for the nearby fire. Something I fondly remember doing once or twice as a child.

In the middle of the yard were 5 huge piles which consisted of mainly garden food such as paragum (wild taro ) vudu ( bananas) nokos ( oil palm broom) sugar cane , Kaukau (Sweet potatoes) and much more produce which were concealed in baskets woven out of coconut fronds. These piles were called la Lolos.  La Lolos were sort of offerings which the families of those being initiated were putting up and were to be claimed either by another family who has a first born who is yet to be initiated or given to a family as pay back of a pile they have claimed in the past as what they call “bekim dinau” to return the gesture.

I walked around scanning the crowd looking for the familiar sign of people grouping, there I knew something interesting was taking place. I watched in admiration as mothers dressed their children for the ceremony, day dreaming of when I too one day will be in their place, proudly presenting my daughter or son to the clan to claim their birth rights. Tears swelled up as I watched a grandmother herself teary eyed, place a bird of paradise headdress on her Bubus( grandchild’s) head.

My attention was soon drawn to the beat of the drums and singing of the lapuns (Elderly). There I found them all circling around 3 of the first born to be initiated. They were singing songs I didn’t understand but I knew that it had strong meaning, as I noticed some of the young men who don’t normally show emotion, because it is seen as a sign of weakness, bow their heads in respect.  The singing got louder and louder as everyone joined in and walked with the first born towards the “tumbuan”. One of the first born named Bobby was not only being initiated into the Lakotoromola but also the Tumbuan. Just about every clan in Papua New Guinea has a tumbuan which is a part of the secret male society. Bobby is now seen as a member of that, he can take part in other tradition ceremony’s involving the tumbuan which in the Nakanai Custom happens during the Galip (Edible Nut native to PNG) Season.

As we approached the tumbuan I could feel the importance of the whole ceremony. An old man grabbed hold of my arm and lead me to a bench made out of bamboo “kalap go antap”  get up he told me “ lukim na kisim piksa blo dispel, u nonap lukim wanpla bigpla custom olsem ken”  witness and take photos of this because you will not see another custom as big as this again. I didn’t hesitate all thoughts about the stability of the bamboo bench which looked like it had seen much better days was erased from my mind, everyone’s so drawn in by the singing, I doubt if I fell they would notice anyway i thought to myself.

Bobby was lead up to the tumbuan and placed inside. The men lifted it of the ground as the crowd cheered and sang even louder. The women hurled clothes, lollies and coins in to the air. I didn’t dare lift my camera for a shot, vividly imagining the coins as pieces of shrapnel flying towards my lense as children scurried down near my feet looking for lollies. I followed behind the crowd as they sang, laughed and cheered.  I was passed a 500ml plastic coke bottle, “diring” Drink, I didn’t hesitate taking 2 gulps before the sensation hit me….Woahh that was some strong “matuka” home brew.

The crowd finally made its way towards the La Lolos and the first born’s were placed on their rightful piles. There they stood in the afternoon sun awaiting an elder named Maki to confirm who would claim their Lalolos, while the women threw their endless supplies of shrapnel, lollies and clothes in to the interested crowd. At one stage a bra landed on an old man who all of a sudden must have got a burst of energy and flung it frantically back, as the crowd roared with laughter.

As I stood back and observed the firstborns I wondered if the older ones understood the true meaning of the Lakotoromola.  Which back in the time of the Tumbunas (ancestors) it was only done when a girl came of age and when a boy was considered a man, there was probably a reason for that, maybe they knew that they were old enough to remember and pass on the custom to the next generation.  As of that day those first born’s initiated can cut their hair and bilas (dress up) as they like, they are allowed to travel to distant places and take part in the garamut and traditional singsing groups , if they were to do so before the Lakotoromola a pig would have been killed and a feast put on for the village.

I wondered how much Traditions and customs have changed since the time of the tumbuna and at that moment I realised and feared even more how much it will change in the future. I hope that these young ones remember and continue this Custom, as one day they will have to pass it on to  their children and grand children.

Table1

Table up high to keep animals and people away from the pig

IMG_1178 2

Young men burning the hairs off the pigs

IMG_1188 3

Children watching the pigs being butchered

IMG_1259

This little one cooking a piece of pork on the fire

IMG_1196

The piles of lalolos

IMG_1303

Last and final touches

IMG_1330

Painting boys face with black traditional paint made out of crushed charcoal

IMG_1333

IMG_1404 7

The lapuns singing with the firstborns

Bobby ready to be placed inside the Tumbuan

Bobby ready to be placed inside the Tumbuan

tumbuan

13

Claiming their Lalolos

throwing gifts in celebration ! 12

throwing gifts in celebration

50 Responses to “My New Guinea Experience – Lakotoromola”

  1. Mardi Gonzalez-Calero March 18, 2013 at 8:42 pm #

    Awesome, Nett, Thanks so much for sharing.. xxx

  2. Things You Realize After You Get Married March 20, 2013 at 2:22 am #

    It’s one thing to read your post, but quite another to see the pics to it…. Pics definitely do tell a story! Awesome shots! Really awesome!! :)

  3. ashleyrcummings March 20, 2013 at 2:36 am #

    These photos are amazing!!!

  4. segmation March 20, 2013 at 2:38 am #

    Hi Nett,
    What an exciting experience to be part of. I understand though that the predominant religious affiliation is Roman Catholic though. Maybe this is not the case from what you visited in New Guinea!

    • mynewguinea13 March 20, 2013 at 10:29 am #

      Hi,
      I live in West New Britain Province and the main affiliation is Roman Catholic although there is also United Church, Jehovas Witness and Seventh Day adventist plus a few other ones as well which im not familiar with. In the whole of New Guinea Roman Catholic does dominate second to that i would say United Church.
      Being part Papua New Guinean and being born and brought up here i just want to share what we get up to. :) Im happy you liked the post :) Nett

  5. nomadruss March 20, 2013 at 2:42 am #

    I was a Peace Corps Volunteer in PNG, this brought back some good memories. Appreciate the story!

    • mynewguinea13 March 20, 2013 at 10:31 am #

      Hay Normandruss, where abouts where you based in PNG? Bouganville?

  6. lordsofthedrinks March 20, 2013 at 3:09 am #

    Interesting experience I think… Good job! :D

  7. journeycount March 20, 2013 at 5:54 am #

    These pictures are beautiful!

    • mynewguinea13 March 20, 2013 at 10:32 am #

      Thank you :) you should visit New Guinea one day :)

  8. Shelby Henry March 20, 2013 at 10:06 am #

    So interesting and informative. Great post!

  9. DrAnthonysBlog March 20, 2013 at 11:57 am #

    #CoolBlogPost @DrAnthony

  10. CarlyV March 20, 2013 at 1:33 pm #

    Wow – neat story and love the pictures. Thanks for sharing!

  11. Coach Muller March 20, 2013 at 2:01 pm #

    Great stuff!! I really enjoyed the pictures. Keep up the good work.

  12. Jessica March 20, 2013 at 4:46 pm #

    Wow. A very different culture than I’m used to! I lived in Taiwan for two years and had a hard time seeing whole animals hanging in the butchers’ stores and out in front of people’s homes as offerings to the gods. This was an amazing post and tribute to your homeland! Thanks for sharing. Hope I can visit New Guinea one day—though not sure I’ll be participating in this ceremony! ;)

  13. Link Wheel March 20, 2013 at 7:44 pm #

    Fantastic! Your photos are a portal into a world very few can travel and I appreciate them.

  14. maha69 March 21, 2013 at 1:18 am #

    Reblogged this on maha's place.

  15. Loujain March 21, 2013 at 6:35 am #

    Beautiful culture!
    I hope like u said that these traditions don’t change.
    It has become a trend for the beautiful traditions to die off and the ugly ones 2 sustain

  16. dan213 March 21, 2013 at 9:39 am #

    Great post. Definitely an interesting read.
    Check out this site…

    http://tshirtlegend.com/

  17. varun321 March 21, 2013 at 11:24 am #

    The photographs are good; it looks like an amazing experience.

  18. ourjourneytothesea March 21, 2013 at 4:49 pm #

    Lovely

  19. somoremore March 21, 2013 at 7:08 pm #

    Great Beatiful life. Nice sharing you guy.

  20. cainscaptures March 22, 2013 at 6:09 am #

    amazing post – thanks for sharing!!

  21. Viraj Belgaonkar March 22, 2013 at 11:09 pm #

    Hi, loved your photographs, and the writing. i lived in port moresby for a few months. I love that someone finally shared the beauty of PNG as opposed to the negative image otherwise floating over the web.

  22. emekatalks March 23, 2013 at 7:44 pm #

    amazing! terrific images.. i should an e-mail you some pictures from Nigerian culture too :) cheers! and keep blogging! :D

  23. OyiaBrown March 23, 2013 at 7:51 pm #

    Reblogged this on Oyia Brown.

  24. aussie55 March 23, 2013 at 9:01 pm #

    Reblogged this on Ethnographic materials ML.

  25. Don Ostertag March 24, 2013 at 6:27 am #

    What a great way to be introduced to today’s New Guinea. I am in the middle of reading a book, Lost in Shangri-La, about a plane crash in an unknown region of New Guinea in the waning days of WWII. Keep up the good work.

  26. Young Docs March 24, 2013 at 10:55 am #

    Love This!!

  27. 1life196countries March 25, 2013 at 5:18 am #

    Reblogged this on 1 Life 196Countries.

  28. Ola U. March 25, 2013 at 12:29 pm #

    Very Beautiful!!

  29. mundanebrain March 27, 2013 at 9:06 am #

    Oh I just found your post via freshly pressed and it brings back so many wonderful memories! I wish I could have met up with you when I was there five years ago, or, anyone who spoke English for that matter! hihi. Wonderful to read and see through your eyes here!

  30. Mz Zoomer March 27, 2013 at 9:46 am #

    I really enjoyed your photos and posts about PNG. It’s not a country most of us are familiar with and often what we do hear, is not on the positive side. Even more importantly it’s great to hear about traditions (anywhere) being carried on…sometimes new ones made. Happy to have found your blog. Thank you.

  31. godtisx March 27, 2013 at 12:53 pm #

    Nice Post, you make us feel like we are steps away. Also, the pictures are wonderful…

  32. domy jednorodzinne March 28, 2013 at 11:46 am #

    I’m extremely impressed along with your writing talents and also with the layout for your weblog. Is that this a paid theme or did you customize it your self? Anyway keep up the nice high quality writing, it is rare to look a nice weblog like this one today..

  33. lista de email March 29, 2013 at 2:26 am #

    looking forward to another great article. lista de email lista de email lista de email lista de email lista de email

  34. midlifemusingsblog March 29, 2013 at 12:40 pm #

    Great post. I particularly liked seeing the costumes and the pic of the young boy at the fire.

  35. Giovannoni Claudine April 8, 2013 at 12:36 am #

    Every country I wisited had left back a lot of memories… I was in Sulawesi (which seams to me a lot to New Guinea) few years ago and I had an experience with ritual and sacrifical of animals (I wasn’t mentaly prepared to see it). Was a funeral somewhere betwen Pare Pare and Palopo… That did hurt a lot since I’m vegetarian… but every culture has his way to go along… we shall respect it.

  36. Jona April 11, 2013 at 7:35 pm #

    Reblogged this on Live, Laugh, Love.

  37. andersandersson13 May 16, 2013 at 7:59 am #

    So nice! Want to see more!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. My New Guinea Experience – Lakotoromola | Ivy's Blog - March 20, 2013

    [...] My New Guinea Experience – Lakotoromola. [...]

Leave a Reply

LightBox

From the photo editors of TIME

Ajaytao 2010

My Personal Opening to the World

WISDOM PLUS

A topnotch WordPress.com site

A Word in Your Ear

Stories and Photographs of my travels, Tales of friends, family, animals and my life

mynewguinea

A Photographic storyboard about New Guinea and it's people......

vagabondwithfamily

Some blogs about living and traveling abroad...

WORLD CELEBRATIONS

Global travel advice | Holidays abroad | Submit/blog

Digital Ethnography Portal

communication technologies in cultural research

Harper Faulkner

The story is in the telling.

Ram's Photo Blog

It is not just another WordPress blog

Ethnographic materials ML.

My dear friends!!! I do not own any of the images here. I try to get things that are available in the public domain or try to credit/link back to the original sources as much as I can. If you own any image I’ve featured here and you want it removed, just let me know and I’ll take care of it.

Oyia Brown

A WordPress site to give you a smile

1Life 196Countries Responsible & Experiential Travel

International Travel Examiner|Member of the Canadian Association of Journalists | Local Branding for Destinations | Travel Writing & Local Guide Workshops | FAM Trips - Destination & Service Provider Reviews |

Wish I Were Here

The literary journeys of J.D. Riso

the Masalai blog

news, ideas, general banter and your comments...(acting locally looking globally)

Joy, Lovely Joy

We are cups, constantly and quietly being filled. The trick is knowing how to tip ourselves over and let the beautiful stuff out. ~Ray Bradbury

Small World BIG Mouth

A Food and Travel Blog. Move Your Feet, Move Your Mouth.

Ivy's Blog

Books , Children, and Everything Nice

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 874 other followers

